2025 USWBSI Steering Committee									
Area	Representative 1	Representative 2	Representative 3	Representative 4	Representative 5				
Wheat Millers (soft and hard)	Reuben McLean (Grain Craft, ID) - 2026 (EC)	North American Millers' Association (Molly Miller, VA)							
Wheat Growers	Bryan Jorgenson (South Dakota Wheat Commission, SD) - 2025	Co-Chair: Richard Magnusson (MN) - 2028 (EC)	National Association of Wheat Growers (Jake Westlin)						
arley Growers	Minnesota Barley Council (Marv Zutz, MN)	North Dakota Barley Council (Scott Nelson, ND)							
Ourum Growers	Dustin Johnsrud (North Dakota Wheat Commission) - 2025	U.S. Durum Growers Association (Jordan Hawbaker, ND)							
Seed Industry	Ken Davis (Grow Pro Genetics, IL) - 2027								
Crop Protection	Terra Hartman (Bayer CropScience, MN) - 2028								
Malting & Brewing Industry	Scott Heisel (American Malting Barley Association, WI) - 2025 (EC)	Paul Sadosky (MillerCoors, WI) - 2028	Jason McCann (Rahr Malting Co., MN) - 2027						
lant Breeder Public - Wheat	Esten Mason (Colorado State University) - 2025 (EC)	Steven Xu (USDA-ARS, CA) - 2026 (EC)							
Plant Breeder Public - Barley	Rich Horsley (North Dakota State Univ.) - 2027 (EC)	Kevin Smith (Univ. of Minnesota) - 2027							
athology - Barley	Alyssa Collins (Pennsylvania State Univ.) - 2027	Frankie Crutcher (Montana State University) - 2027							
Pathology - Wheat	Co-Chair: Ruth Dill-Macky (Univ. of Minnesota) - 2025 (EC)	Carl Bradley (Univ. of Kentucky) - 2025 (EC)							
ood Safety/Toxicology	Yanhong Dong (Univ. of Minnesota) - 2027								
re-breeding and Germplasm Development	Gary Muehlbauer (Univ. of Minnesota) - 2027 (EC)								
Pathogen Biology and Genetics	Vacant								
Pasta Industry	Alexis "Lexi" Freier-Johnson (Dakota Growers Pasta Co., MN) - 2025								
Ag. Experiment Station Directors		Meriem Aoun (Oklahoma State Univ SAAESD) - 2028							
esearch Area Committee (RAC)	MGMT - Kaitlyn Bissonnettee, Cotton Inc. (202	5); FST - Dave Kendra, Cibus, CA (2025); G	GDER -Harold Trick, Kansas State Univ. (20)	26); and PBG - Guixia Hao, USDA-ARS (2	2026)				
Coordinated Project Committee CPC) Chairs	Barley CP - Mitch Elmore, USDA-ARS (2026); Durum CP - Andrew Friskop, North Dakota State Univ. (2025); Hard Winter Wheat CP - Sunish Sehgal, South Dakota State Univ. (2025); VDHR-SPR - Jason Cook, Montana State Univ. (2025); VDHR-NWW - Jessica Rutkoski, Univ. of IL (2026); and VDHR-SWW - Rick Boyles, Clemson Univ. (2026)								
ISDA-ARS National Program eader overseeing the USWBSI	Oswald Crasta, National Program Leader-Small	Grains, USDA-ARS, MD (EC)							

Year term expires is indicated in red font.

SC terms for EC members and RA/CP Committee chairs are superseded by the terms of their home committee.

Northern and Southern Associations of Ag Experiment Station Directors appoint their reps to the steering committee for four year terms.

Organizational Representation - no set term limit

2025 USWBSI Executive Committee					
Representative Commodity	Name (Organization)				
Winter Wheat	Carl Bradley (Univ. of Kentucky, KY) - 2025				
Spring Wheat	Ruth Dill-Macky (Co-Chair, Univ. of Minnesota, MN) - 2025				
Malting Industry	Scott Heisel (American Malting Barley Assoc., WI) - 2025				
Barley	Rich Horsley (North Dakota State Univ., ND) - 2027				
All	Richard Magnusson (Co-Chair , Private Grower, MN) - 2028				
Winter Wheat	Esten Mason (Colorado State Univ., CO) - 2025				
Spring Wheat	Gary Muehlbauer (Univ. of Minnesota, MN) - 2027				
Milling Industry	Reuben McLean (Grain Craft, ID) - 2026				
Durum	Steven Xu (USDA-ARS, CA) - 2026				
USDA-ARS	Oswald Crasta (USDA-ARS, MD) - non-voting				
/ear term expires is indicated in red font.					

	Position		Term Ending (December 31 of year indicated)
FHB Management (MGMT)	Chair	Kaitlyn Bissonnette (Cotton Inc.)	2025
	Vice Chair	Alyssa Koehler (Univ. of Delaware)	2025
	Member	Briana Whitaker (USDA-ARS, IL)	2026
	Member	Christina Cowger (USDA-ARS, NC)	2027
	Member	Erick DeWolf (Kansas State Univ.)	2020
MGMT's Integrated	Chair	Pierce Paul (The Ohio State Univ.)	No term
Management Coordinated	Member	Alyssa Koehler Betts (Univ. of Delaware)	No term
Project (IM-CP)	Member	Kiersten Wise (Univ. of Kentucky)	No term
Food Safety and Toxicology	Chair	David Kendra (Cibus, CA)	2025
(FST)	Vice Chair	Mark Busman (USDA-ARS,IL)	2025
	Member	Chris Maragos (USDA-ARS, IL)	2026
	Member	Zhao Jin (North Dakota State Univ.)	2027
Gene Discovery &	Chair	Harold Trick (Kansas State Univ.)	2026
Engineering Resistance	Vice Chair	Nidhi Rawat (Univ. of Maryland)	2020
(GDER)	Member	William Hay (USDA-ARS, IL)	2028
	Member	Matthew Helm (USDA-ARS, IN)	2028
Pathogen Biology & Genetics	Chair	Guixia Hao (USDA-ARS, IL)	2026
(PBG)	Vice Chair	Christopher Toomajian (Kansas State Univ., KS)	2026
	Member	Santiago Mideros (Univ. of Illinois)	2026
	Member	Milton Drott (USDA-ARS, MN)	2026
	Member	Gazala Ameen (South Dakota State Univ., SD)	2027

2025 USWBSI Commodity-based Coordinated Project (CP) Committees Term Ending Position (December 31 of year indicated) Barley Coordinated Project (BAR- Chair Mitch Elmore (USDA-ARS, MN) 2026 CP) Vice Chair Belay Yimer (USDA-ARS, ID) 2026 Member Max Fraser (Anheuser-Busch InBev) 2028 Member Ashley McFarland (American Malting Barley Assoc.) 2026 **Durum Coordinated Project (DUR-Chair** Andrew Friskop (North Dakota State Univ.) 2025 CP) Vice Chair Elias Elias (North Dakota State Univ.) 2025 Member Greg Miller (Winland Foods) 2028 Member Shaobin Zhong (North Dakota State Univ.) 2028 Hard Winter Wheat Coordinated Chair Sunish Sehgal (South Dakota State Univ.) 2025 Project (HWW-CP) Vice Chair Sue Mondal (Montana State Univ.) 2025 Shaukat Ali (South Dakota State Univ.) Member 2026 Member Narinder Singh (Bayer) 2028 Variety Development - Spring Chair Jason Cook (Montana State Univ.) 2025 Wheat (SPR) Vice Chair Jason Fiedler (USDA-ARS, ND) 2025 Member Andrew Green (North Dakota State Univ.) 2025 Member Karl Glover (South Dakota State Univ.) 2028 Variety Development - Northern Chair 2026 Jessica Rutkoski (Univ. of Illinois) Soft Winter Wheat (NWW) Vice Chair Eric Olson (Michigan State Univ.) 2026 Member Mohsen Mohammadi (Purdue Univ.) 2028 Member Jana Murche (KWS) 2028 Variety Development - Southern Chair Rick Boyles (Clemson Univ.) 2026 Soft Winter Wheat (SWW) Vice Chair Noah Dewitt (Louisiana State Univ. Ag Center) 2026 Allen Becker (Grow Pro Genetics, LLC) 2027 Member Member 2028 Nicholas Santantonio (Virginia Tech)